21st Annual Fred Dillow Memorial Set for August 15th at Portsmouth Raceway Park

Ironton, Ohio (April 7th, 2015) The Dillow Family has been busy preparing for the 21st edition of the Fred Dillow Memorial, which is set for Saturday, August 15th at Portsmouth Raceway Park in Portsmouth, Ohio.

The Fred Dillow Memorial is contested annually in memory of the late Fred Dillow, who spent much of his life competing in dirt track events across Southeast Ohio. Fred lost his battle with Leukemia on December 1st, 1990.

In 1995, Barry Bragdon won the inaugural Fred Dillow Memorial at Southern Ohio Speedway in Wheelersburg, Ohio. For the next four years, Southern Ohio Speedway hosted the annual event before the track ceased operations in 1999.

With Southern Ohio Speedway now dormant, the Fred Dillow Memorial shifted to its present venue at Portsmouth Raceway Park. To date, the historic event has ssen ten different winners. Eddie Carrier Jr. and R.J. Conley top the all-time win list with five victories each. They are joined by Jackie Boggs and the late Jack Boggs as the only four drivers to win more than once.

The 2015 edition of the Fred Dillow Memorial will once again feature a competitive purse structure, along with numerous contingency awards and bonus monies.

The Super Late Model feature will pay $5,000 to the winner. “Bozo’s Just Give Me One Lap” returns as the Super Late Model Fast Time Award, paying $1,077 to the top qualifier. $233 will be awarded to the Sgt. Tim Moore Dash for Cash winner, sponsored by Graphic Impressions. Each heat race winner receives an $83 bonus from IMPACT RaceGear. Perry Racing #20 has posted a $50 bonus to the leader of Lap #1 in the Super Late Model feature. The amount of the Ryan “PFunk” Potter Halfway Leader Award has yet to be determined. Shain Custom Decals partners with the Fred Dillow Memorial of the first time in 2015, awarding $250 to the Super Late Model Hard Charger.

Tri-State Industrial Supply, Inc. returns as the presenting sponsor of the Open Wheel Modified main event, which pays $1,000 to win. The Open Wheel Modified Fast Time Award currently is set to pay $250 (subject to increase), in Memory of Thomas Childress Jr. The amount of the Ryan “PFunk” Potter Halfway Leader Award for Open Wheel Modifieds has also yet to be determined. Walker Construction will award $100 to the Hard Charger of the race in Memory of Linda Walker. A $50 Tough Break Award has been named in Memory of Dangerous Dan Aldridge.

The Limited Late Model and Bomber Purse Information is still pending and will be released in the near future.

The Long Haul Award is given to the driver with the farthest travel distance to attend the event. The recipient receives a $50 Gas Card sponsored by Pro Star Designs, in addition to a DeWALT Power Tool courtesy of Tri-State Industrial Supply, Inc.

Portsmouth Raceway Park in Portsmouth, Ohio is 1 mile West of Portsmouth off Route 52 & 73/104. The 3/8 mile clay high banked track has seating for over 4,000 spectators in the general admission area with an additional 300 in the pit area. For more information, visit www.PortsRaceway.com

For the latest news concerning the Fred Dillow Memorial, keep your browsers locked on to www.FredDillowMemorial.com

2015 Fred Dillow Memorial Sponsors: P-Funk Posse, IMPACT RaceGear, In Memory of Ryan “PFunk” Potter, Bradley Racing Apparel, Tri-State Industrial Supply, Inc., Graphic Impressions, MSR Mafia Marketing Services, Giovanni’s Pizza Power, Late Model Illustrated, DirtonDirt.com, Poskes Performance Parts, Graphic Creations, Mark’s Photo, Johnny Raughtens Sports Lounge, Pro Star Designs, In Memory of Thomas Childress Jr., 2Grafic Distributions, Shain Custom Decals, A Black Tie, “Bozo’s Just Give Me One Lap,” The Aldridge Family, Off The Wall Kustom T’s, Walker Construction, Perry Racing #20, Hop’s Carry Out, Brenda’s Photography, B&L Exhaust, 99 Motorsports, In Memory of Brian Sherman, Whitley-Gahm & Rayburn, and Tyler Carr Racing Photos.